Skip to main content


< Back

The Senate in session, 1966


From the left (internal members of the Senate): Dr. A. Klein [(partially visible) Professor, Department of Aeronautics and Applied Mechanics], Dr. D. Venkateswarlu (Head of the Department of Chemical Engineering), Dr. S. D. Nigam (Head of the Department of Mathematics), Dr. S. K. Srinivasan (Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics), Dr. N. Klein (Professor, Department of Humanities), Dr. P. C. Varghese (Head of the Department of Civil Engineering), Mr. S. S. Mani (Workshop Superintendent), Dr. G. Rouvé (Professor, Department of Civil Engineering), Dr. S. Ramaseshan (Head of the Department of Physics), Dr. E. G. Ramachandran (Head of the Department of Metallurgy), Dr. W. Koch (Professor, Department of Physics).

They are followed by the external members of the Senate Prof. T. Balakrishnan Nair* (Principal, Tagore Arts College, Pondicherry, 1965) and  Dr. G. S. Laddha (director, A. C. College of Technology, Madras), the Chairman of the Senate Prof. B. Sengupto (Director, IIT Madras), and Mr. C. V. Sethunathan (Secretary of the Senate; and Registrar, IIT Madras).

The Senate met a total of 7 times in 1966. The Director of the Institute is the ex-officio Chairman of the Senate. According to the 1966 Annual Report, there were 31 members of the Senate (and the Registrar).

*A different spelling of Prof. T. Balakrishnan’s Nair’s surname has been found in the Annual Report of 1966 as Nayar.

Gourishankar Collection
Photograph ID:
Album ID:
Senate in session
C. Gourishankar. A geologist by qualification, Gourishankar started his career as a photographer after working for many years with the Geological Survey of India. In everything that he did, Gourishankar strove to achieve flawlessness and impeccable quality. Thus his photography too was characterised by this drive for perfection. Every photograph that Gourishankar took was meticulously planned and shot, and printed with diligence and patience. Gourishankar carried out most of the official photography at IIT Madras in the 1960s.